Karmaveer Bhaurao Patil

Founder Rayat Shikshan Sanstha, Satara

Yashvantrao Balwantrao Chavan

Ex. Deputy Prime Minister of India, Ex. Chife Minister of Maharashtra

               Nestled in the hills of Sahyadri, is the historic and scenic city Satara, the location of Yashavantrao Chavan Institute of Science. The institute is the member of family Rayat Shikshan Sanstha, a renowned educational trust, founded by Late Padmbhushan Dr. Karmaveer Bhaurao Patil. Established in June 1958 as a Science wing of Chh. Shivaji College Satara, it was later established as a single faculty ‘Science College’ in June 1965. The science college was christened in 1986 as Yashavantrao Chavan Institute of Science in the honour of Late Shri. Yashavantrao Balawantrao Chavan, former Deputy Prime Minister of India and former President of Rayat Shikshan Sanstha. Yashavantrao Chavan Institute of Science is reputed government aided science institute affiliated to Shivaji University, Kolhapur with university affiliation No.UKF/565/U/5 and Junior College Index No. is 21.10.003. The cumulative result of consistant achievements in academic, extracurricular and social performance of the institute resulted in receiving accreditation at A level and reaccreditation at A level with higher grade points of 3.37 by NAAC, Banglore. The Institute is selected as ‘College with Potential for Excellence’ by UGC, New Delhi and for FIST ( FUNDS for IMPROVEMENT IN SCIENCE AND TECHNOLOGY ) by DST New Delhi. The institute is honoured as STAR college by DBT, New Delhi.